

# **Joint Meeting**

# MLK Commission and Emancipation Proclamation and Freedom Monument Subcommittee

Senate Room A
General Assembly Building
Richmond, Virginia

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:00 A.M. and 1:00 P.M.

# **AGENDA: Morning Work Session**

- 1. Call to order—Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Subcommittee Chairman
- 2. Presentation of Finalists Scaled Models of Monument

10:15 a.m. -- Baskervill -- Represented by Mr. Burt Pinnock

11:15 a.m. -- Charles Fagan and MJ Synergy Group, LLC -- Represented by Mr. Carlos Davis and Mr. Charles Fagan

10:45 a.m. -- Daub & Firmin Studios -- Represented by Mr. Eugene Daub and Dr. Rob Firmin

11:15 a.m. -- 12:00 p.m. Subcommittee Review of Models: Recommendation to MLK Commission

Lunch: 12:00 p.m. -- 1:15 p.m.

Afternoon Work Session: 1:15 p. m.

- 3. Call to order—The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Commission Chairman
- 4. Staff Briefing—Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate
  - 2014 Interim Work Plan
- 5. **Report of the Subcommittee**—Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Subcommittee Chairman
- 6. Notification of Finalist
- 7. Next Steps Concerning Monument
  - Fundraising
  - Creation of 501(c)(3) organization
  - Consultation with Virginia Department of Buildings and Grounds and the City of Richmond
- 8. Directions to Staff
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Next Meeting Date
- 11. Adjournment

#### **MLK COMMISSION MEMBERS**

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, Vice Chairwoman
Delegate C. Matt Fariss
Senator Mamie E. Locke
Delegate Delores McQuinn

Senator William M. Stanley, Jr. Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr. Delegate Joseph R. Yost Reverend Ricardo L. Brown Dr. Ronald L. Carey The Honorable William C. Cleveland LTC (R) Wesley H. Motley, Jr. SAI Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan Mr. Charles Withers Mrs. Juanita Owens Wyatt

## **Emancipation Proclamation and Freedom Monument Subcommittee**

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Subcommittee Chairman Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, Commission Vice Chairwoman

Ms. Betsy S. Barton

Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr.

The Honorable Viola Baskerville

Ms. Lynne M. Bland

Ms. Valerie Braxton-Williams

Dr. Ronald L. Carey

The Honorable Jean W. Cunningham

Mr. Patrick Farris Dr. Lauranett Lee

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke Kirk T. Schroder, J.D., Ph.D. Dr. Phillip Stone, Esq. Shawn O. Utsey, Ph.D. Mr. Charles Withers

The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

### **Ex Officio Member**

The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Commission Chairman

#### **Advisors**

Dr. Ed Ayers, President, University of Richmond

Ms. April Kees, Legislative Analyst, Senate Finance Committee

Mr. Joseph F. Damico, Deputy Director, Department of General Services

Mr. Douglas Dunlap, Deputy Director for the Department of Planning and Development Review, City of Richmond

Mr. Edward Gully, Director, Division of Engineering and Buildings

Mr. Don Mark, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Richmond Mayor

Mr. Richard F. Sliwoski, Director, Department of General Services

## STAFF

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate
Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant
Mrs. Caryl S. Harris, Fiscal Officer
Division of Legislative Services
201 North Ninth Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 786-3591, ext. 232
bedwards@dls.virginia.gov

Mr. D. Hobie Lehman, Assistant Coordinator of Committee Operations and Sergeant-at-Arms of the Senate Senate of Virginia
P. O. Box 396
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-7450
hlehman@senate.virginia.gov